Here are your 2023 Canadian Folk Music Award nominees

The Canadian Folk Music Awards today announced the nominees for the 2023 awards, which will be handed out in Vancouver between March 31 and April 2 next year.

Here’s the full list.  Congratulations to all!

 Children’s Album of the Year

  • Folk For Little Folk Volume 1 – Gordie Crazylegs MacKeeman
  • Ponderosa Bunchgrass and the Golden Rule – The Oot n’ Oots
  • The Full Circle – The Relative Minors
  • Tuba Blues – My Friend Christopher
  • Ça suffit pour s’amuser – Hannah Shira Naiman

Contemporary Album of the Year

  • Cerulean – Ken Yates
  • Down-Home – Kyle McKearney
  • eleven – Madison Violet
  • Hurricane Coming – Shawna Caspi
  • Long Haul – John Wort Hannam
  • Sanctuary – Sultans of String
  • Tongues – Tanya Tagaq
  • Zhawenim – Digging Roots

Contemporary Singer of the Year

  • Angelique Francis (Long River)
  • Barney Bentall (Cosmic Dreamer)
  • Boy Golden (Church of Better Daze)
  • Ken Yates (Cerulean)
  • Kyle McKearney (Down-Home)

English Songwriter(s) 

  • Abigail Lapell (Stolen Time)
  • Andrew McClelland aka Li’l Andy (The Complete Recordings of Hezekiah Procter (1925-1930)
  • John Wort Hannam (Long Haul)
  • Matt Patershuk (An Honest Effort)
  • Tim Buckley (Frame by Frame)
  • Yael Wand (Saltwater Heartwood)

Ensemble  of the Year

  • Over The Moon (Chinook Waltz)
  • The Dead South (Easy Listening For Jerks – Part 1)
  • The Fretless (Open House)
  • The McDades (The Empress)
  • The Slocan Ramblers (Up the Hill and Through the Fog)

French Songwriter(s) of the Year

  • Anik Bérubé & Natalie Byrns (Les ébranlements)
  • Geneviève Roberge-Bouchard & Alain Barbeau (J’attends encore)
  • Héra Ménard & Guylaine Saint-Pierre (Fleurs)
  • Matt Stern (Rien qu’un animal)
  • Sébastien Lacombe (Le chemin des possibles)

Global Roots Album of the Year

  • III – Ayrad
  • Sanctuary– Sultans of String
  • Thieves of Dreams Zlod?ji sn? – Lenka Lichtenberg
  • Tradisyon – Wesli Louissaint
  • Until When – Jaffa Road

Indigenous Songwriter(s) of the Year

  • Adrian Sutherland (When The Magic Hits)
  • Amanda Rheaume (The Spaces In Between)
  • Berk Jodoin (Half Breed)
  • Kyle McKearney (Down-Home)
  • ShoShona Kish & Raven Kanatakta Polson-Lahache (Zhawenim)

Instrumental Group of the Year

  • Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves (Hurricane Clarice)
  • Proulx-Demers (Il fera beau demain)
  • RanchWriters (RanchWriters)
  • Shannon Quinn & Tony Quinn (20 Summers)
  • The McDades (The Empress)

Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year

  • Ellen Gibling (The Bend in the Light)
  • John Reischman (New Time & Old Acoustic)
  • Kerry Fitzgerald (Bitz & Beatz)
  • Mike Stevens (Breathe In The World Breathe Out Music)
  • Waymzy (Inchoate)

New/Emerging Artist(s) of the Year

  • Alex Krawczyk (Le Olam)
  • Andrew Waite (Andrew Waite)
  • Camie (troubadour)
  • Cheval (Singer Songwrecker)
  • RedFox (Stranger Love)
  • Tennyson King (Good Company)

Oliver Schroer Pushing the Boundaries Award

  • Flash de mémoire – Mélisande [électrotrad]
  • Sanctuary – Sultans of String
  • Thieves of Dreams  Zlod?ji sn? – Lenka Lichtenberg
  • Transcestral – Oktoécho
  • Zhawenim – Digging Roots

Producer(s) of the Year

  • Brenley MacEachern & Lisa MacIsaac (eleven – Madison Violet)
  • Chris McKhool & John ‘Beetle’ Bailey (Sanctuary – Sultans of String)
  • Corwin Fox & Yael Wand (Saltwater Heartwood – Yael Wand)
  • Katia Makdissi-Warren (Transcestral – Oktoécho)
  • The Fretless & Joby Baker (Open House – The Fretless)

Single of the Year

  • “100 Proof” – Julian Taylor
  • “À travers mes yeux” – Geneviève et Alain
  • “Familiar Feeling” – Pretty Archie
  • “Heavy Heart” – Fortunate Ones
  • “Hey Boys Sing Us A Song” – The Irish Rovers
  • “Love you the Best” – Quote the Raven
  • “Sing Me A Song” – William Prince and Serena Ryder
  • “Sweet Desperado” – Madison Violet
  • “Teeth Agape” – Tanya Tagaq

Solo Artist of the Year

  • Barney Bentall (Cosmic Dreamer)
  • James Keelaghan (Second-Hand)
  • Jocelyn Pettit (Wind Rose)
  • John Wort Hannam (Long Haul)
  • Suzie Ungerleider (My Name Is Suzie Ungerleider)

Traditional Album of the Year

  • 20 printemps – Le Vent Du Nord
  • 20 Summers – Shannon Quinn & Tony Quinn
  • Hurricane Clarice – Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves
  • Long Time Travelling – Ken Whiteley
  • Up the Hill and Through the Fog – The Slocan Ramblers

Traditional Singer of the Year

  • Kim Beggs (Steel and Wool)
  • Li’l Andy (The Complete Recordings of Hezekiah Procter (1925-1930))
  • Lizzy Hoyt (The Parting Glass)
  • Michael Darcy (Down to the Roots
  • Mike Bravener (Have You Ever Heard The Story?)

Vocal Group of the Year

  • Le Vent Du Nord (20 printemps)
  • Les Rats d’Swompe (Elixir)
  • Mama’s Broke (Narrow Line)
  • Quote the Raven (Can’t Hold the Light)
  • The McDades (The Empress)

Young Performer(s) of the Year

  • Fiddelium (Fiddelium)
  • Paige Penney (Fingers Crossed)
  • The Fiddlaires (Fiddletainment)
  • The Oot n’ Oots (Ponderosa Bunchgrass and the Golden Rule)
  • The Receivers (The Receivers)
If you are enjoying this content, please take a second to support Roots Music Canada on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *