Here are your 2020 Juno nominees in the roots, Indigenous and global categories

They’re out!  The 2020 Juno nominees were announced this morning. 

The awards will be handed out during Juno Week March 9-15 in Saskatoon, SK.  We’ll bring you more details shortly about ticketing for events and all that fine stuff.  But we thought you’d like to see these as soon as possible.  Congratulations to all!

Reggae recording of the year

  • Exco Levi, “Wah Gwaan”
  • Jay Douglas, “Jah Children” 
  • Lyndon John X, The Warning Track 
  • Petraa, “Never Broken ??????”
  • Storry, “Another Man” 

Indigenous artist or group of the year

  • Celeigh Cardinal, Stories from a Downtown Apartment
  • Digawolf, Yellowstone
  • Nêhiyawak, Nipiy 
  • Northern Haze, Siqinnaarut
  • Riit, Ataataga 

Contemporary roots album of the year

  • Catherine MacLellan, Coyote
  • Del Barber, Easy Keeper
  • Irish Mythen, Little Bones
  • Justin Rutledge, Passages
  • Lee Harvey Osmond, Mohawk

Traditional roots album of the year

  • April Verch, Once A Day
  • Miranda Mulholland, By Appointment Or Chance
  • Natalie MacMaster, Sketches
  • The Dead South, Sugar & Joy
  • The Small Glories, Assiniboine & The Red 

Blues album of the year 

  • Big Dave McLean, Pocket Full Of Nothin’
  • Dawn Tyler Watson, Mad Love 
  • Durham County Poets, Hand Me Down Blues 
  • Michael Jerome Browne, That’s Where It’s At
  • Whitehorse, The Northern South Vol. 2 

World music album of the year

  • Djely Tapa, Barokan 
  • Okan, Sombras
  • Okavango African Orchestra, Africa Without Borders 
  • Romina Di Gasbarro, Risorgimento 
  • Silla and Rise, Galactic Gala 
If you are enjoying this content, please take a second to support Roots Music Canada on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *