Home Feature Here are your 2024 Maple Blues Award winners

Here are your 2024 Maple Blues Award winners

Matt Andersen. Photo by David Hynes.

New Brunswick bluesman Matt Andersen was the big winner last night at the 27th annual Maple Blues Awards, held at The Phoenix Concert Theatre in Toronto.

Matt was the only multi-award winner of the evening, taking home the prizes for Entertainer of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, Recording/Producer of the Year and Songwriter of the Year.

Crystal Shawanda took home the inaugural Indigenous Artist of the Year awards, and Brant Zwicker was this year’s Blues Booster of the Year.

Corby will have more from the ceremony this weekend, but for now, here’s the full list of winners.

Entertainer of the Year: Matt Andersen

Electric Act of the Year: Colin James

Acoustic Act of the Year: Suzie Vinnick

Male Vocalist of the Year: Matt Andersen

Female Vocalist of the Year: Miss Emily

Angelica Hunter. Photo by David Hynes.

New Artist/Group of the Year: Little Magic Sam

International Artist of the Year: Tedeschi Trucks

Recording/Producer of the Year: Matt Andersen

Blues With A Feeling (lifetime achievement): Sue Foley

Songwriter of the Year: Matt Andersen

Guitarist of the Year: Garrett Mason

Crystal Shawanda. Photo by David Hynes.

Harmonica Player of the Year: Guy Belanger

Keyboard Player of the Year: Jesse O’Brien

Horn Player of the Year: Alison Young

Drummer of the Year: Jim Casson

Bassist of the Year: Gary Kendall

Indigenous Artist/Group of the Year: Crystal Shawanda

Blues Booster of the Year: Brant Zwicker

Guy Belanger. Photo by David Hynes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here