Home Feature Here are your 2023 Canadian Folk Music Award Winners from Sunday night

Here are your 2023 Canadian Folk Music Award Winners from Sunday night

John Wort Hannam (left) and T. Buckley performs at the Canadian Folk Music Awards on April 2.

The second and final night of the Canadian Folk Music Awards unfolded Sunday evening live from the home of Vancouver’s Rogue Folk Club, and like Saturday’s show, it went off without a hitch.

Well, OK, the packed house posed a challenge for some of the winners, who had to make their way through a crowd to get to the stage, occasionally prompting presenters to wonder if they were in the house.

In fact, John Wort Hannam was so memorably surprised by his Contemporary Album of the Year win on Saturday night that he was still in the downstairs bar when it was announced, and he had to race upstairs.

I suspect that story will become part of CFMA lore.

Saturday nights winners: Here are your 2023 Canadian Folk Music Award winners so far

Speaking of John, he and T. Buckley closed down the show with a performance of “Wonderful Things” featuring a stage-full of nominees and performers, including Abigail Lapell, Shawna Caspi and Lenka Lichtenberg.

The evening also included showcases by Abigail, Digging Roots, Wesli, and Mama’s Broke.

And although I have praised the CFMAs in the past for not overdoing it on the guest presenters, this year’s shows featured a veritable who’s who of the western Canadian folk scene, including musician Andy Hillhouse of the Harrison Festival Society, Michelle Demers Shaevitz of the Mission Folk Music Festival, Tom Coxworth of CKUA, Vic Close of Fish Creek Concerts and Suze Casey of the Calgary Folk Club. And I have to say, it was great to see them all on stage. It felt like a family reunion.

Next year’s CFMAs return to St. John’s, NL, site of the 2008 event.

Book your ticket now!

Here’s who took home the CFMAs on Sunday night.

Children’s Album of the Year: Gordie Crazylegs MacKeeman – Folk for Little Folk Volume 1

Ensemble of the year: Slocan Ramblers

Oliver Schroer Pushing the Boundaries Award: Oktoecho

Producer of the Year: Chris McKhool & John ‘Beetle’ Bailey for Sultans of String – Sanctuary

Solo Artist of the Year: John Wort Hannam

Global Roots Album of the Year: Sultans of String – Sanctuary

New/Emerging Artist of the Year: Red Fox

Vocal Group of the Year: The McDades

Traditional Singer of the Year: Lizzy Hoyt

Traditional Album of the Year: Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves – Hurricane Clarice


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here