Here are your first ever Arctic Music Award winners

Twin Flames.

The first ever Arctic Music Conference and Awards took place this past weekend – an online-only affair that offered some solid introductory-level break-out sessions for emerging musicians and an awards-presentation that got down to business without attempting any high-tech production values.

The awards show took place on Zoom and was live-streamed on Twitch. It featured three lengthy pre-recorded sets by Twin Flames, Beatrice Deer and Uyarakq, the Greenland artist, now working out of Ottawa, who proved to be the evening’s big winner.

The winners were determined by a popular vote.  Here’s who took home the prizes.

Artist of the Year – Uyarakq

Group of the Year – Twin Flames

Indigenous Artist of Group of the Year – Angela Amarualik

Single of the Year – Uyarakq – “parrutileqaat”

Album of the Year – Uyarakq – Whale Dick

Music Video of the Year – Uyarakq – parrutileqaat

If you are enjoying this content, please take a second to support Roots Music Canada on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *