Home Feature Here are your Western Canadian Music Award nominees in the roots/world cateogories

Here are your Western Canadian Music Award nominees in the roots/world cateogories


The Western Canadian Music Awards have announced their 2020 nominees.

The awards are scheduled to be handed out during the Breakout West conference Sept. 20 to Oct. 4 in Winnipeg. As of today, that event is still going ahead.

We’ve listed the nominees in the folk, roots, blues world and Indigenous categories below. But it needs to be said that several folk, roots and world artists are also nominated in non-genre-specific categories this year – like Breakout Artist of the Year (The Small Glories:), Children’s Artist of the Year (The Kerplunks), Francophone Artist of the Year (Kelly Bado), Instrumental Artist of the Year (Pierre Schryer & Adam Dobres), Recording of the Year (William Prince and Frazey Ford), and even Rock Artist of the Year (The Jerry Cans).

This is really quite an extraordinary nominee list because it’s a true testament to the level of talent in Western Canada right now. I mean, just look at that Indigenous category! We should just give all the nominees the trophy right now to share.

Blues Artist of the Year
Big Dave McLean – MB
Harpdog Brown – BC
Kat Danser & The Tall Tales – AB
Kenny ‘Blues Boss’ Wayne – BC
Wide Mouth Mason – BC

Country Artist of the Year
Dan Davidson – AB
Don Amero – MB
Hunter Brothers – SK
Jess Moskaluke – SK
The Dungarees – AB

Global Artist of the Year (formerly World Artist of the Year)
Buckman Coe – BC
Casimiro Nhussi – MB
Mazacote – BC
Orchid Ensemble – BC
The Mariachi Ghost – MB

Indigenous Artist of the Year (Sponsored By Aboriginal Peoples Television Network)
Blue Moon Marquee – BC
Burnstick – MB
Celeigh Cardinal – AB
Riit – NV
Snotty Nose Rez Kids – BC

Roots Artist of the Year
Del Barber – MB
Kacy & Clayton – SK
Leaf Rapids – MB
The Small Glories – MB
William Prince – MB

Songwriter(s) of the Year (Sponsored By The Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada) SOCAN
Celeigh Cardinal – AB
Del Barber – MB
Kacy Anderson & Clayton Linthicum – SK
Nuela Charles – AB
William Prince – MB


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here