Home News Here are your 2020 Canadian Folk Music Award nominees

Here are your 2020 Canadian Folk Music Award nominees


The board of the Canadian Folk Music Awards has just announced the nominees for the 2020 awards, which will be handed out in Charlottetown, PEI April 3 and 4.  Congratulations to all of this year’s nominees!

Traditional Album of the Year

  • Easy Money – Old Man Luedecke
  • Horizons – Vishtèn
  • Queen City Jubilee – The Slocan Ramblers
  • Territoires – Le Vent du Nord
  • Watchmaker – Shannon Quinn 

Contemporary Album of the Year

  • Assiniboine & The Red – The Small Glories
  • Citizen Alien – Leaf Rapids
  • Getaway – Abigail Lapell
  • Love, Inevitable – Jenn Grant
  • The Al Purdy Songbook – Various artists
  • The Maze – Ariana Gillis
  • Time Travel – Lennie Gallant 
  • Up Against The Sky – Dave Gunning

Children’s Album of the Year

  • It Takes a Village – Ginalina
  • Lullabies For Big Eyes – The Kerplunks
  • Magical Lullabies – Amos J & Jérôme Fortin
  • Rocks and Roots – Will’s Jams
  • You, Me and the Sea – Splash’N Boots

Traditional Singer of the Year

  • Rachel Davis for Ashlar (Co?ig)
  • Joshua Haulli for AQQUT 
  • Sophie Lavoie for Portraits (Sophie & Fiachra)
  • Old Man Luedecke for Easy Money 
  • Allison Lupton for Words of Love

Contemporary Singer of the Year

  • Matt Andersen for Halfway Home By Morning
  • Jenn Grant for Love, Inevitable 
  • Dave Gunning for Up Against The Sky 
  • Lydia Persaud for Let Me Show You 
  • Andrea Ramolo for Homage

Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year

  • Itamar Erez for Mi Alegria 
  • Sabin Jacques for Grandes Rencontres (Sabin Jacques & Rachel Aucoin)
  • Graham Lindsey for TradHead
  • Jon Pilatzke for Amongst Friends 
  • Richard Wood for Unbroken

Instrumental Group of the Year

  • Emilyn Stam & Filippo Gambetta for Shorelines 
  • Mairi Rankin & Eric Wright for The Cabin Sessions 
  • Pierre Schryer & Adam Dobres for Mandorla 
  • The Fitzgeralds for The Fitzgeralds
  • Toronto Tabla Ensemble for Bhumika

Vocal Group of the Year

  • Fortunate Ones for Hold Fast 
  • Geneviève et Alain for De la rivière à la mer 
  • Musique à bouches for L’habit de plumes 
  • The Small Glories for Assiniboine & The Red 
  • The Sweet Lowdown for Low Clouds in the Morning

Ensemble of the Year

  • Haley Richardson & Quinn Bachand for When The Wind Blows High and Clear 
  • Oliver the Crow for Oliver the Crow 
  • The Slocan Ramblers for Queen City Jubilee 
  • The Small Glories for Assiniboine & The Red 
  • Vishtèn for Horizons

Solo Artist of the Year

  • Michael Jerome Browne for That’s Where It’s At 
  • Jenn Grant for Love, Inevitable 
  • Dave Gunning for Up Against The Sky 
  • Sarah MacDougall for All The Hours I Have Left To Tell You Anything 
  • Danny Michel for White & Gold
  • Irish Mythen for Little Bones

English Songwriter(s) of the Year

  • Ben Caplan and Christian Barry for Old Stock (Ben Caplan)
  • Lennie Gallant for Time Travel 
  • Dave Gunning for Up Against The Sky 
  • Kaia Kater for Grenades 
  • Abigail Lapell for Getaway
  • Cara Luft, JD Edwards, Neil Osborne, and Catherine MacLellan for Assiniboine & The Red (The Small Glories) 
  • Madeleine Roger for Cottonwood 
  • Justin Rutledge for Passages

French Songwriter(s) of the Year

  • Bernard Adamus for C’qui nous reste du Texas
  • Jordane Labrie and Clement Desjardins for 12 jours (Jordane)
  • Jean Leloup for L’étrange pays
  • Safia Nolin for Dans le noir 
  • Caroline Savoie for Pourchasser l’aube

Indigenous Songwriter(s) of the Year

  • Sugar Plum Croxen, Shelley Hamilton, and George Elliott Clarke for Constitution (The Afro-Métis Nation)
  • Jenelle Duval, Danielle Benoit, and Stacey Howse for Qama’si (Eastern Owl)
  • Joshua Haulli for AQQUT 
  • Diyet van Lieshout for Diyet & the Love Soldiers
  • Mike Paul for Origine

World Solo Artist of the Year

  • Ben Caplan for Old Stock 
  • Cristian De La Luna for SABES 
  • Quique Escamilla for Encomienda 
  • Roberto López for Kaleido Strópico 
  • Wesli for Rapadou Kreyol

World Group of the Year

  • Al Qahwa for Cairo Moon 
  • Ayrad for Zoubida 
  • Emilyn Stam & Filippo Gambetta for Shorelines 
  • Pierre Schryer & Adam Dobres for Mandorla
  • Toronto Tabla Ensemble for Bhumika

New Emerging Artist(s) of the Year

  • Birds Of Bellwoods for Victoria 
  • Geneviève Racette for No Water, No Flowers
  • Gordie MacKeeman and His Rhythm Boys for Dreamland 
  • Hook & Nail for Ghosts of Taylorton 
  • Lydia Persaud for Let Me Show You 
  • T. Buckley for Miles We Put Behind
  • The Lumber Jills for The Lumber Jills 
  • The Unfaithful Servants for The Unfaithful Servants

Producer(s) of the Year

  • Erin Costelo for Grenades (Kaia Kater)
  • Steve Dawson for Halfway Home By Morning (Matt Andersen)
  • Luke Doucet for The Northern South Vol. 2 (Whitehorse)
  • Daniel Ledwell for Time Travel (Lennie Gallant)
  • Jory Nash and Chris Stringer for Wilderness Years (Jory Nash)

Oliver Schroer Pushing the Boundaries Award

  • Ben Caplan for Old Stock
  • Elisapie for The Ballad of the Runaway Girl
  • Samson Wrote for Pigeon
  • Tri-Continental for Dust Dance
  • Vishtèn for Horizons

Young Performer(s) of the Year

  • Conway for Conway
  • Nick Earle for Breaking New Ground
  • Joshua Haulli for AQQUT 
  • Keltie for Expect Inhibition 
  • Jacques Surette for Marche, marche, marche 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here