Feature

Bringing Home The CFMA Nov 20, 2010

Thanks to the enormous, generous support of the Canadian folk music community, Roots Music Canada is thrilled to announce that it will indeed broadcast the Canadian Folk Music Awards from Winnipeg, Manitoba, on November 20, 2010. At this writing, we have raised nearly $6500.00 thanks to sponsors CFMA, Long and McQuade, OCFF, Roots Music Canada, Ottawa Folklore Centre, True North Records, Borealis Records, and over a dozen fabulous individuals. We haven’t stopped the fundraising efforts, we just know that we can execute the broadcast without totally losing our shirts in the process. Our goal remains $10,000.

The three-camera broadcast will air November 20, 2010 beginning at 7:00 PM CST / 8:00 PM EST at rootsmusic.ca, beginning with a pre-gala one hour special featuring performances from selected nominees, and interviews with various guests, including gala hosts Shelagh Rogers and Benoit Bourque. At 8:00 PM CST/ 9:00 PM EST, our cameras will cover every award-issue, as well as live music performances by the likes of Stephen Fearing, Annabelle Chvostek, David Essig, Madagascar Slim, The Once, Heather Bishop, Don Ross, and  Shearwater Bluegrass Band.

More news about the broadcast will appear on these pages as we approach. Meanwhile, if you wish to support the endeavour, you can make a donation on-line or contact us for sponsorship:  paul@rootsmusic.ca . Roots Music Canada wishes to especially thank Paul Gellman for his outstanding work in this project so far.

If you are enjoying this content, please take a second to support Roots Music Canada on Patreon!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *