Feature

Galaxie FolkRoots Top Canadian Spins of 2009

(Based on high rotation airplay frequency between December 2008 and November 2009
and producer preference)

Canadian:

ef61fbe

1. Woodland Telegraph — Sings Revival Hymns — (Northern Folklore)
2. Great Lake Swimmers — Lost Channels — (weewerk/nettwerk)
3. One Hundred Dollars — Forest of Tears — (Blue Fog)
4. The Breakmen — When You Leave Town — (thebreakmen.com)
5. Bruce Cockburn — Slice of Life: Live Solo — (True North/Linus)
6. Jesse Winchester — Love Filling Station — (Appleseed)
7. Nathan Rogers — The Gauntlet — (Borealis)
8. Amelia Curran — Hunter, Hunter — (Six Shooter/Warner)
9. Dave Gunning — We’re All Leaving — (Wee House of Music/Fontana North)
10. Catherine McLellan — Water in the Ground — (True North/Linus)
11. Amy Campbell — Oh Heart, Oh Highway (Battle-Axe Folk)
12. Romi Mayes — Achin in Yer Bones — ( www.romimayes.com )
13. The Deep Dark Woods — Winter Hours — (Black Hen)
14. Kate Reid — I’m Just Warming Up — (www.katereid.net)
15. Dan Mangan — Nice, Nice, Very Nice (FU:M/Outside)
16. Elliott Brood — Mountain Meadows — (Six Shooter/Warner)
17. Maria Dunn — The Peddler — (Distant Whisper)
18. Marianne Girard — Pirate Days — ( www.mariannegirard.com)
19. Ian Tyson — Yellowhead to Yellowstone and other Love Stories — (Stony Plain)
20. Jim Byrnes — My Walking Stick — (Black Hen)
21. Good Lovelies — Good Lovelies — (www.goodlovelies.com)
22. Annabelle Chvostek — Resilience — (Borealis)
23. Lynne Hanson — Eleven Months — (www.lynnehanson.com)
24. David Baxter — Day & Age — (Proper Channels)
25. Brian Vardigans — Springhill — ( www.brianvardigans.com)
26. Rodney Brown — North Land — (Starsilk)
27. Laura Bird — The Water In Between — (Wigborough)
28. Rob Lutes — Truth & Fiction — (www.roblutes.com )
28. The United Steel Workers of Montreal — Three on the Tree (weewerk)
30. Chuck Labelle — Plus jamais comme avant — (Tomo)
31. Madison Violet — No Fool for Trying — (True North)
32. Jon Brooks — Moth Nor Rust — (jonbrooks.ca)
33. Yonder Hill — Yonder Hill — ( www.yonderhill.ca )
34. The Arrogant Worms — Torpid — (Fontana North)
35. Dana Sipos — The Moonshine Brigade — (myspace.com/danasipos)
36. Stewed Roots — In the Middle of This — ( www.stewedroots.com)
37. Jon-Rae Fletcher — Oh, Maria — (weewerk)
38. Melissa McLelland — Victoria Day — (Six Shooter/Warner)
39. Stompin’ Tom — The Ballad of Stompin’ Tom — (EMI)
40. Hotcha! — Dust Bowl Roots — (www.hotcha.ca)

Seasonal Music releases added this December:

Amanda Rheaume — Acoustic Christmas — (www.bgcottawa.org)
Good Lovelies — Under the Mistletoe — (www.goodlovelies.com)
House of Doc — Coventry Carol (Part One) — (www.houseofdoc.com)
Chakidor — Le coeur au fêtes 2 — (www.chakidor.com)
Krista Detor — The Silver Wood: Wintersongs — (Tightrope)
John Fahey — The New Possibility: John Fahey’s Guitar Soli Christmas Album — (Tacoma/Rhino)
(Various) — A Family Christmas — (Putumayo)

ef61fcd

“All Roots, 24-hours a day”

The Folk/Roots Channel is produced for the Galaxie Network (Stingray Digital) by Rocon Communications.

Please send submissions for broadcast consideration to:
Roch Parisien
Rocon Communications
93 Fieldrow Street
Nepean, Ontario
Canada K2G 2Y8

For more information about the Galaxie Network,  please visit the website at: www.galaxie.ca
Follow Roch Parisien’s Rocon Communications on Facebook

ef61fdd

If you are enjoying this content, please take a second to support Roots Music Canada on Patreon!

1 comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *